Graphs and Graph Transformations

Director:Schneider, H.
Period:October 1, 2004 - December 31, 2014
Description:

Graphs are often used as an intuitive aid for the clarification of complex matters. Examples of outside computer science include, e.g., chemistry where molecules are modeled in a graphical way. In computer science, data or control flow charts are often used as well as entity relationship charts or Petri-nets to visualize software or hardware architectures. Graph grammars and graph transformations combine ideas from the fields of graph theory, algebra, logic, and category theory, to formally describe changes in graphs.

Category theory is an attractive tool for the description of different structures in a uniform way, e.g., the different models for asynchronous processes: Petri-Nets are based on standard labeled graphs, state charts use hierarchical graphs, parallel logic programming can be interpreted in a graph-theoretical way using so-called jungles, and the actor systems can be visualized as graphs, whose labeling alphabet is a set of term graphs.

Lately, we have concentrated our attention on a theoretical aspect.
Our work on graph transformation is based on notions borrowed from category theory. The so-called double-pushout approach represents a production by two morphisms starting at a common interface graph. One pushout glues the left-hand side of the production into the context, the other does with the right-hand side. Effectively constructing a derivation step, however, requires finding a pushout complement on the left-hand side. Some people consider this disadvantageous. In 1984, Raoult has proposed to model graph rewriting by a single pushout; Loewe has extensively studied this approach, but the discussion was mainly restricted to injective morphisms. Under this assumption, the approaches are equivalent. Some relevant applications such as term graph rewriting, however, lead to non-injective morphisms. We have examined these cases in detail, and we could show that the equivalence also holds for non-injective cases as long as the handle satisfies some reasonable conditions.

watermark seal

Graphen und Graphtransformationen

Projektleitung:Schneider, H.
Zeitraum:1. Oktober 2004 - 31. Dezember 2014
Beschreibung:

Graphen werden an vielen Stellen als intuitives Hilfsmittel zur Verdeutlichung komplizierter Sachverhalte verwendet. Außerhalb der Informatik trifft dies z.B. auf die Chemie zu, wo Moleküle graphisch modelliert werden. Innerhalb der Informatik werden beispielsweise Daten- bzw. Kontrollflussdiagramme, Entity-Relationship-Diagramme oder Petri-Netze zur Visualisierung sowohl von Software- als auch von Hardware-Architekturen verwendet. Graphgrammatiken und Graphtransformationen kombinieren Ideen aus den Bereichen Graphentheorie, Algebra, Logik und Kategorientheorie, um Veränderungen an Graphen formal zu beschreiben.

Die Kategorientheorie ist ein attraktives Hilfsmittel, äußerst unterschiedliche Strukturen in einer einheitlichen Weise zu beschreiben, z.B. die unterschiedlichen Modelle für asynchrone Prozesse: Petri-Netze basieren auf gewöhnlichen markierten Graphen, Statecharts verwenden hierarchische Graphen, die parallele logische Programmierung kann mit Hilfe sogenannter Dschungel graphentheoretisch interpretiert werden, und die Aktorsysteme lassen sich als Graphen darstellen, deren Markierungsalphabet eine Menge von Termgraphen ist.

In letzter Zeit haben wir uns auf einen theoretischen Aspekt konzentriert.
Unsere Arbeiten zu den Graphtransformationen basieren auf Konzepten der Kategorientheorie. Der sogenannte Doppelpushout-Ansatz stellt eine Produktion durch zwei Morphismen dar, die an einem gemeinsamen Interface-Graphen ansetzen. Das eine Pushout fägt die linke Seite der Produktion in den Kontext ein, das andere die rechte Seite. Wenn wir einen Ableitungsschritt tatsächlich konstruieren wollen, müssen wir auf der linken Seite ein Pushout-Komplement finden, was als nachteilig empfunden wird. Raoult hat 1984 vorgeschlagen, die Graphersetzung durch ein einzelnes Pushout zu beschreiben; der Ansatz wurde dann von Loewe ausführlich diskutiert, wobei die Untersuchungen weitgehend auf injektive Morphismen beschränkt blieben. Unter dieser Voraussetzung sind die Ansätze äquivalent. Jedoch führen einige Anwendungen, z.B. die Termersetzung, zu nichtinjektiven Morphismen. Wir haben diese Fälle detailliert untersucht und konnten zeigen, dass sie auch in diesem Fall äquivalent sind, solange die Einbettung vernünftige Eigenschaften hat.

watermark seal