Design for Diagnosability

Director:Philippsen, M.
Period:May 15, 2013 - September 30, 2018
Coworker:Adersberger, J.; Lautenschlager, F.
Description:

Many software systems behave obtrusively during the test phase or even in normal operation. The diagnosis and the therapy of such runtime anomalies is often time consuming and complex, up to being impossible. There are several possible consequences for using the software system: long response times, inexplicable behaviors, and crashes. The longer the consequences remain unresolved, the higher is the accumulated economic damage.
"Design for Diagnosability" is a tool chain targeted towards increasing the diagnosability of software systems. By using the tool chain that consists of modeling languages, components, and tools, runtime anomalies can easily be identified and solved, ideally already while developing the software system. Our cooperation partner QAware GmbH provides a tool called Software EKG that enables developers to explore runtime metrics of software systems by visualizing them as time series.
The research project Design for Diagnosability enhances the eco-system of the existing Software EKG. The Software-Blackbox measures technical and functional runtime values of a software system in a minimally intrusive way. We store the measured values as time series in a newly developed time series database, called Chronix. Chronix is an extremely efficient storage of time series that optimizes disk space as well as response times. Chronix is an open source project (www.chronix.io) and is free to use for everyone.
The newly developed Time-Series-API analyzes these values, e.g., by means of an outlier detection mechanism. The Time-Series-API provides multiple additional building blocks to implement further strategies for identifying runtime anomalies.
The mentioned tools in combination with the existing Software EKG will become the so-called Dynamic Analysis Workbench. This tool enables developers to diagnose, explain, and fix any occurring runtime anomalies both quickly and reliably. It will provide diagnosis plans to localize and identify the root causes of runtime anomalies. The full tool chain aims at increasing the quality of software systems, particularly with respect to the metrics mean-time-to-repair and mean-time-between-defects.
Before we have successfully completed the project in July 2016, we have made the following contributions:

  • We have linked Chronix and a framework for distributed data processing so that our anomaly analyses now scale to huge sets of time series data.
  • We extended Chronix with additional components. Among them are, for example, a more efficient storage model, some adapters for more time series databases, additional server-side analysis functions, and some new time series types.
  • We have published our benchmark for time series databases.
  • We have investigated and implemented an approach to link application-level calls, e.g., a login of a user, down to the resulting calls on the OS level.

Although funding expired in 2016, we made further contributions in 2017:

  • We presented Chronix at the FAST conference in Santa Clara, CA in February 2017.
  • We have equipped Chronix with interfaces to attach time series databases that are used in the industry.
  • We have developed an approach that determines the ideal cluster configuration (w.r.t. processing time and costs) for a given analysis (specific function and set of time series).
  • We have expanded Spark, a framework for distributed processing of large-scale data, so that it now can make use of GPUs in distributed time series analyses. We presented the results at the Apache Big Data Conference in Miami, Florida, in May 2017.

We continued to make further contributions to the research project in 2018:

  • We have published a paper at PROFES 2018 that describes techniques and insights on how runtime data in a large software project can be offered to all project participants at the development stage to improve their collaboration.
  • We have maintained the Chronix Open Source project and stabilized it further (updating versions, fixing bugs, etc.).
watermark seal

Design for Diagnosability

Projektleitung:Philippsen, M.
Zeitraum:15. Mai 2013 - 30. September 2018
Mitarbeiter:Adersberger, J.; Lautenschlager, F.
Beschreibung:

Viele Software-Systeme verhalten sich während der Testphase oder sogar im Regelbetrieb im negativen Sinne auffällig. Die Diagnose und die Therapie solcher Laufzeitanomalien ist oft langwierig und aufwändig bis hin zu unmöglich. Mögliche Folgen bei der Verwendung des Software-Systems sind lange Antwortzeiten, nicht erklärbares Verhalten oder auch Abstürze. Je länger die Folgen unbehandelt bleiben, desto höher ist der entstehende wirtschaftliche Schaden.
"Design for Diagnosability" beschreibt eine Werkzeugkette mit Modellierungssprachen, Bausteinen und Werkzeugen, mit denen die Diagnosefähigkeit von Software-Systemen gesteigert wird. Mit dieser Werkzeugkette werden Laufzeitanomalien schneller erkannt und behoben – idealerweise noch während der Entwicklung des Software-Systems. Unser Kooperationspartner QAware GmbH bringt ein Software EKG ein, mit dem die Exploration von Laufzeit-Metriken aus Software-Systemen, visualisiert als Zeitreihen, möglich ist.
Das Forschungsprojekt Design for Diagnosability erweitert das Umfeld dieses bestehenden Software-EKG. Die Software-Blackbox misst minimal-invasiv technische und fachliche Laufzeitdaten des Systems. Die Speicherung der erfassten Daten erfolgt in Form von Zeitreihen in einer neu entwickelten Zeitreihendatenbank Chronix. Chronix ist darauf ausgelegt, eine Vielzahl an Zeitreihen äußerst effizient hinsichtlich Speicherplatzbedarf und Zugriffszeiten zu speichern. Chronix ist ein Open Source Projekt (www.chronix.io) und kann frei benutzt werden. Die Zeitreihen werden mit der Time-Series-API analysiert, z.B. mittels einer automatisierten Strategie zur Erkennung von Ausreißern. Die Time-Series-API bietet Grundbausteine, um weitere Strategien zur Identifikation von Laufzeitanomalien in Zeitreihen umzusetzen.
Die aufgeführten Werkzeuge werden in Kombination mit dem bestehenden Software-EKG zum Dynamic Analysis Workbench ausgebaut, um eine zeitnahe Diagnose und Behebung von Laufzeitanomalien zu ermöglichen. Hierzu sind Diagnosepläne vorgesehen, die einen Software-Entwickler unterstützen, eine Laufzeitanomalie schneller und zuverlässiger einzugrenzen und zu erkennen. Das Ziel der Werkzeugkette ist die Qualität von Software-Systemen zu erhöhen, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Kennzahlen Mean-Time-To-Repair sowie Mean-Time-Between-Defects.
Vor dem erfolgreichen Projektabschluss im Juli 2016 konnten noch eine Reihe wesentlicher Beiträge geleistet werden:

  • Wir haben Chronix und ein Framework zur verteilten Berechnung gekoppelt. Dadurch skaliert die Anomalieanalyse jetzt auf riesige Mengen an Zeitreihendaten.
  • Wir haben Chronix fortentwickelt und weitere Komponenten ergänzt, wie z. B. ein noch effizienteres Speichermodell, mehrere Adapter für diverse Zeitreihendatenbanken, weitere server-seitige Analysefunktionen und neue Zeitreihentypen.
  • Wir haben unseren Benchmark für Zeitreihendatenbanken veröffentlicht.
  • Wir haben zur Analyse von Anomalien einen Ansatz entwickelt, der Aufrufe ausgehend von der Anwendung bis hinein auf die Betriebssystemebene nachvollzieht.

Obwohl die Förderung im Jahr 2016 auslief, haben wir im Jahr 2017 noch weitere Beiträge geleistet:

  • Wir haben Chronix auf der USENIX Conference on File and Storage Technologies (FAST) im Februar 2017 in Santa Clara, CA, vorgestellt.
  • Wir haben Chronix mit Schnittstellen ausgestattet, um in der Industrie verwendete Zeitreihendatenbanken anzubinden.
  • Wir haben einen Ansatz entwickelt, der für eine gegebene Analyse (Funktion und zu analysierende Zeitreihen) die ideale Cluster-Konfiguration (bzgl. Verarbeitungszeit und Kosten) bestimmt.
  • Wir haben Spark, ein Rahmenwerk zur verteilten Verarbeitung von Massendaten so erweitert, dass die GPU bei der verteilten Analyse von Zeitreihen genutzt werden kann. Ergebnisse haben wir auf der Apache Big Data Konferenz im Mai 2017 in Miami, Florida, vorgestellt.

Auch im Jahr 2018 haben wir noch weitere Beiträge im Forschungsprojekt geleistet:

  • Wir haben ein Papier auf der PROFES 2018 veröffentlicht, in dem wir Techniken und Erkenntnisse beschreiben, wie man Laufzeitdaten in einem großen Softwareprojekt schon zur Entwicklungszeit für alle Projektbeteiligten anbieten kann und damit die Zusammenarbeit verbessert.
  • Wir haben das Open Source Projekt von Chronix gewartet und dabei weiter stabilisiert (Aktualisieren von Versionen, Fehlerbehebungen etc.).
watermark seal